Food

Baking Challenge: Compost Cookies & Chocolate Chip & Walnut Blondies

In order to be a bit more proficient in the kitchen, I decided to challenge myself to bake something different every week this year. So far, I think I’m doing a pretty good job. It’s been two weeks since I began this challenge and I’m feeling a little more confident when it comes to making things from scratch. My first recipe was Momofuku’s Milk Bar’s Compost Cookies. I was able to find a recipe online that halved the original and I must say, I’m little proud of how they turned out.

I baked cookies- Momofuku Milk Bar Compost Cookies. Not the prettiest but itI mixed in pretzels, oats, Lay’s Potato Chips, butterscotch chips, mini chocolate chips and peanut butter chips inside the batter. Next time I probably won’t break the pretzel and chips in pieces. I know the picture isn’t that great but believe me, the cookies were delicious. It was not easy to keep from taking bites of this cookie when you are trying to eat healthy. :)

The next recipe I tried was Shutterbean’s Chocolate Chip and Walnut Blondies. This was another success. The recipe was extremely easy to follow. The serving count was 12 blondies but I was about to get 24 by cutting the squares in half. They were still substantial in size. I doubt if these will last the week. :)

Chocolate Chip and Walnut Blondies

(You see, I couldn’t wait to try one out.)

I have no idea what to bake next. More cookies? A pie?

Leave a Reply

