Food

Let The Good Times Roll!

Mardi Gras Final

I have roots in Louisiana. My grandmother is from New Orleans (Algiers to be exact). When I was a little girl, my family and I would go to New Orleans to spend some time with my grandmother’s cousins. I remember that ferry ride from Algiers to New Orleans. I can still see that horse-drawn carriage in Jackson Square and me feeding the white horse some carrots. There was always lots of food at the house (so much food). I would shadow one of my grandmother’s cousins in the garden and help her pick pecans from the tree so we could make pralines. Memories like that make me smile.

I miss New Orleans and I wish I could go visit every year for Mardi Gras. Believe it or not, I never had the opportunity to experience it (yet). So until I can get myself to my grandmother’s city, I bring the spirit of Mardi Gras into the home and into the kitchen. Here’s a round-up of some of my favorite signature dishes from Louisiana. I hope you give them a try!

  1. Buttermilk Beignets from Joy the Baker
  2. Shrimp Po’ Boy from Bon Appetite
  3. Pralines from Picky Palate
  4. King Cake from Bourbon & Boots
  5. Shrimp Etoufee from Turntable Kitchen

I have more Mardi Gras inspiration on my Pinterest board!

2 thoughts on “Let The Good Times Roll!

  1. I grew up in Hahnville, LA, so I feel a kinship with Mardi Gras also. You’ve given me lots of new places to check out when I go back down to Baton Rouge to visit my mother and slip down to NOLA for a day or two!

Leave a Reply

